The Hon Sarah Catherine DERRINGTON

Judge, Federal Court of Australia: 10.01.2018
Location: Brisbane

Justice Sarah Derrington is the President of the Australian Law Reform Commission.

Prior to her appointment to the Federal Court, Justice Derrington was the Dean of Law at the University of Queensland and a barrister specialised in maritime and shipping law, general commercial law and arbitration.

She was educated at the University of Queensland, where she graduated, initially, with a BA (in French and German) and an LLB (Hons). In 1990, she was admitted to the Bar in Queensland and as a Barrister & Solicitor of the Supreme Court of the ACT, where she commenced practice in the litigation section of Freehill Hollingdale and Page in Canberra. Subsequently she spent a year in the insurance litigation section of Minter Ellison in Brisbane before commencing part-time practice at the private Bar whilst pursuing her academic career at the University of Queensland, graduating in 1996 with an LLM and in 1999 with a PhD in the field of marine insurance law.

Justice Derrington was appointed Professor of Admiralty Law in 2008.

She has published in various journals including the Law Quarterly Review, Modern Law Review, Lloyd’s Maritime & Commercial Law Quarterly, the Insurance Law Journal, and the Journal of Maritime Law and Commerce and, with James M Turner QC of the English Bar, has co-authored The Law and Practice of Admiralty Matters, now in its second edition (OUP, 2016).

Justice Derrington is a Past President of the Maritime Law Association of Australia and New Zealand (MLAANZ) and continues to represent Australia and New Zealand in various international working groups of the Comité Maritime International (CMI), of which she was appointed a Titular Member in 2016. Between 2012 and 2017, she served on the board of the Australian Maritime Safety Authority (AMSA). She has been a member of the Admiralty Rules Committee since 2006, and continues to serve on the Councils of the Australian Maritime College (AMC) and the Australian National Maritime Museum (ANMM). She was elected a Fellow of the Academy of Law in 2009, of the Nautical Institute in 2013, and an Honorary Bencher of Gray's Inn in 2021.