National Practice Areas

The Court's workload has been reorganised by reference to 9 National Practice Areas (NPAs) and where applicable, sub-areas, based on established areas of law. 

This structure has been put in place in order to:

  • foster consistent national practice
  • the utilisation of specialised judicial and registrar skills
  • the effective, orderly and expeditious discharge of the business of the Court

The nine NPAs and sub-areas are:

A detailed description of each NPA (and any sub-areas) can be found on the descriptions of the Court's National Practice Areas page of this site.